Don't miss the next Multi-club Armor/Sewing Party and Meeting ×

Introduction - Hello!

Josh

Greetings Everyone!

My name is Josh and I want to be apart of the 501st Legion and the Imperial Sands Garrison. 

It goes without saying, I'm a HUGE Star Wars fan.  Growing up in San Diego, I've been attending San Diego Comic Con since I was a kid. The 501st always had their section at the convention.  The 501st really set a precedence for me.  At the time, I couldn't even imagine putting together a movie accurate costume.  Fast forward years later, I have been cosplaying different characters for a few years now.  Mostly characters that I enjoy which range from Wrestling, Videogame, Comic Book, and Disney Characters.

More recently, I started diving into 3d printing and have been having a blast.  I started printing a Mando helmet which got me thinking about the 501st again.  I want to be apart of the joy you bring.  One thing I really appreciate and respect about the 501st is their involvement/volunteer work with the community.  Cosplaying for a cause has been a goal of mine since I started.  I would love to be involved.

I don't have SW armor yet.  I was hoping someone can point me in the right direction of how to get started?  I checked out some CRLs but what are the acceptable material types?  I was formerly an Art Major so I experimented with many different types of mediums. 

It looks like i just missed the recent build party, are there any plans for an upcoming build parties or any events where I can gain more information?  I am very interested.

Its hard for me to narrow it down but I think I've condensed my list to the below.  I would most likely want to start in the below order.

1. TB - Scout Trooper: Return Of The Jedi
  2. CC - Clone Commander (EU) (Phase 2): Rex
  3. TD - Sandtrooper
  4. TK - Stormtrooper: Rogue One
  5. TX - Imperial Death Trooper - TX

Thank you for help.  I look forward to learning more and hopefully become a contributor :).

Welcome Josh!